Reading list

I spent some time at Foyle’s yesterday, one of London’s many excellent bookshops, acquiring some key titles on my reading list for early 2013, at the top of which was Jared Diamond’s Guns, Germs, and Steel. I am woefully late to the party on this one, and the first 50 pages made it immediately clear why this book is universally praised. I look forward to peeling back the layers of Diamond’s world history onion, and in so doing I expect to find myself trying to apply his theories to the international commercial world. Reading about the origins of colonialism, one cannot ignore its modern legacies in the form of corporate globalism, and I imagine it will be helpful for me to approach business and human rights problem solving bearing this long view of history in mind.

Other titles on the reading list:

Blink, Malcolm Gladwell (this too has been a long time coming)

A History of the Twentieth Century, Martin Gilbert

Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn

An Equal Music, Vikram Seth

Tenth of December, George Saunders

One Last Thing Before I Go, Jonathan Tropper

The Tao of Pooh, Benjamin Hoff

A Hologram for the King, Dave Eggers

Leave a Reply

